Workaholic

KC and the Village

KC 1#

 

Derby is an interesting place. Yes, I have lived there for long enough now (if you’re counting it as my ‘official address’ since I took off across Europe), and I’m tired of this city in the same that that a wanderlusting nomad like me tires of every city, but there are a few spots which I never tire of.

One of them is Darley Abbey, a tiny village on the edge of Derby, though it is still very much within the city, like a little pocket of history buried right under our noses. Few people that I know have discovered this wonderful spot, or at least, not until I introduce them to it, and the moment I found it myself, I knew that I had to arrange a photo shoot there.

KC 2#

 

Together, my model, KC and I pieced together a wardrobe that we felt simultaneously clashed with and matched the setting perfectly, being edgier than the quaint English village, while blending our textures, patterns and colour schemes to suit the chipped paint and bare brickwork, adding a few pops of colour here and there; primarily KC’s amazing hair colour.

I’ve come to really enjoy taking on the roll of stylist, or in this case, co-stylist, as well as photographer, though of course I’m more than happy to hand over the reins to someone more knowledgeable and experienced than myself. While I think its important to collaborate with as many creative souls as possible, it’s great to flex my own creative muscles with these personal shoots, to experiment and discover new talents, and learn new skills. While I’m not about to start referring to myself as a stylist as well as a photographer, it’s great to create my vision through other – or additional – means.

KC 3#

KC 4#

KC 5#

 

KC 6#

KC 7#

KC 8#

 

Facebook – Twitter – Instagram – Google+ – Pinterest – Polyvore

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

