Vanity Feed

Catching up on the Catwalks: AW14

I miss the good old days, when I could curl up in my armchair with a coffee, and watch the live catwalk feed each fashion week. Of course, it’s a good thing that those days are over – I’d hate to still have so much time on my hands that I can sit and watch the live feeds of fashion week (London, Paris, Milan and New York!). Being busy is always good.

So tonight I’ve been catching up on what so far I’ve only caught glimpses of. I especially love the creativity with tailoring, full midi skirts and feminine, flowing layers that are awash over the catwalk this year – these trends have been around for a while now, of course, but it just seems to get better each season. Thank you Vogue.com (the source of all photos below)!

Dior

Lanvin

MSMG

Versace

Fendi

Chloe

Erdem

Temperley London

Let’s just throw the entire Temperley collection in there – I’m in love it all!

Julien Macdonald

Holly Fulton

Mary Katrantzou

Jasper Conran

Marchesa

Naeem Khan

Jenny Packham

Zac Posen

Alice & Olivia

Victoria Beckham

And then after an evening of perusing Vogue’s catwalk reports, comes that horrible sink in my heart as I remember that I can’t just nip into town and buy any of these outfits. Even if a Chanel or a Marchesa store were to pop up overnight five minutes from my house (ha!), I dare not even guess as to how much every item on this page would cost me in total… and when I would have the opportunity to wear most of them. Sigh. I have to keep reminding myself that to most of us, these catwalks are to be looked at in the same way as the artwork in a gallery. Depressing as that is.

Ah well. I have a thousand ideas in mind for re-working my own wardrobe to get me started. I think it’s about time I ought to inject some more ‘regal’, brocade and berry-toned pieces. I’ve been searching for months now.

Facebook – Twitter – Instagram – Google+ – Pinterest – Polyvore

Standard

Leave a Reply

